Nov 9, 2011

Swansea City


Swansea City is a football club based in the city of Swansea, Wales. Formed in 1912 and joined the competition of the Football League - the second caste of English football in the Premiership - since 1921.
The club was previously known as Swansea town, but in 1969, who took the name of the city of Swansea to reflect the new State of Swansea, as well as a city.

In the period between 1981 and 1983, capable of Swansea to represent its strength in the first division soccer division - name of the English Premier League start - and finish in sixth place in his first season at that level before the new format was created in 1992 under the name of Premier League - Premier League - to qualify for a degradation in two divisions called the Championship. Since then, Swansea continued fighting in the arena of the class.

In 2005, the official Swansea City play their first home game in a new headquarters, Liberty Stadium, Stadium, which is also shared with the sports club rugby, Rugby Club, Osprey after previous " Home " Swansea settled in wiki field.

Swansea fans known as 'Jacks'. One reason why so named because during the 17th century sailors who came from the city of Swansea is very respected and elegant with its reputation.

in the season 2010/11 yesterday after 29 years of drowning in the case of the Championship, the time of return Swensea experienced great success with the ticket could ensure promotion to the Premier League via the play-offs after finishing third in the Championship. Also the caste, the club nicknamed the Swans being the new history of consecrated as the first club of Wales played at the highest level of English football.

Profile Swansea City

Founded: 1912
Chairman: Huw Jenkins
Director: David Morgan, Brian Katzen, Gwilym Joseph, Martin Morgan, Huw Cooze, Steve Penny
Stadium: Liberty Stadium, Swansea

Record of Achievement
1 time champion of League One (2007/08)
2 time champions South Division Three - Tier 3 (1924/25, 1948/49)
1 time champion of Division Three - Tier 4 (1999/00)
2 times champion Football League Trophy (1994, 2006)
10 times Welsh Cup champion (1913, 1932, 1950, 1961, 1966, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1989, 1991)
2 times the FAW Premier Cup champion (2005, 2006)
Source of Goal

Leave a Reply