Sep 16, 2011



History Manchester United
In 1878, workers of Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway depot set up a football club called Newton Heath L & YR FC. The club almost went bankrupt in 1902 before it was saved by investing JH Davies, managing director of Manchester Breweries. In a board meeting after the purchase, the managers of the club felt the need to change the name of the club to mark a new beginning. On 26 April 1902, was chosen the name Manchester United thanks to a proposal of a man-blooded Italian, Louis Rocca, among other choice names like Manchester Central and Manchester Celtic.

The first success in the league began in 1907/08. Previous season, Manchester United bring Billy Meredith and Sandy Turnbull from local rivals, Manchester City, due to violation of FA rules. United's successful nine-point lead over second ranked team, Aston Villa. A year after successfully won the league crown, United's FA Cup trophy to hook the first time. Two former City players were really inspired United to dominate English football.

On the European scene, known for its successful United's famous Busby Babes generation. After losing many talented players in a plane crash in Munich on February 6, 1958, United risen ten years later. Busby rebuilt United's efforts are not wasted. Some young players are found, including George Best inspired a 4-1 United victory over Benfica, which was reinforced Eusebio.

In the modern era, the legend continued United's Scottish man named Sir Alex Ferguson. England entered the era of competition since the Premier League, Man Utd bought up 11 times from 17 opportunities crown champion. In Europe, with Ferguson adding to United's successful Champions League title in 1999 and 2008.

Achievement Manchester United
3 times champion European Cup / Champions League (1967/68, 1998/99, 2007/08)
1 time champion Winners' Cup (1990/91)
1 time European Super Cup winner (1990/91)
2 times champion Intercontinental Cup / Club World Cup (1999, 2008)
Premier League champions 19 times (plus the old Division One, 1907/08, 1910/11, 1951/52, 1955/56, 1956/57, 1964/65, 1966/67, 1992/93, 1993/94, 1995/96 , 1996/97, 1998/99, 1999/2000, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2010/11)
11 times FA Cup winner (1908/09, 1947/48, 1962/63, 1976/77, 1982/83, 1984/85, 1989/90, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1998/99, 2003/04)
League Cup winners four times (1991/92, 2005/06, 2008/09, 2009/10)
Community Shield champions 19 times (1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1977, 1983, 1990, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011)

2 times the old Division Two champions (1935/36, 1974/75)

Profile Team Manchester United

Confederation: FA
Supporting: Manchester United Supporters Club (MUSC)

Founded: 1878
Address: Old Trafford, Manchester England
Phone: 0161.86.88.000
Fax: 0161.86.88.804
Electronic Mail:
Official URL:
Chairman: Joel & Avram Glazer
Director: David Gill
Coach: Alex Fergusen
Stadium: Old Trafford

Squad Manchester United 2011/2012

David De Gea
Tomasz Kuszczak
Anders Lindegaard
Ben Amos
Sam Johnstone

Patrice Evra
Phil Jones
Rio Ferdinand
Jonny Evans
Chris Smalling
Nemanja Vidic
Sean Mcginty

Ryan Giggs
Park Ji-Sung
Michael Carrick
Ashley Young
Tom Cleverley
Darren Fletcher
Luis Antonio Valencia
Darron Gibson
Paul Pogba
Matthew James
Davide Petrucci
Ravel Morrison

Michael Owen
Dimitar Berbatov
Wayne Rooney
Javier Hernandez
Danny Welbeck
Federico Macheda
Mame Biram Diouf
Will Keane

Leave a Reply